Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Gravity Falls: Six Strange Tales DVD Review

Gravity Falls is the story of Dipper and Mabel Pines as they visit their “Grunkle” Stan for the summer.  He lives and runs in a fantastic sideshow institution known as the Mystery Shack.  This relatively new animated series premiered back in June 2012.  And now, after the conclusion of its first season of episodes, on October 15th, Disney is releasing 6 episodes of the series titled Gravity Falls: Six Strange Tales.

The 6 episodes are:

  • Tourist Trapped
  • The Legend of the Gobblewonker
  • Headhunters
  • The Hand that Rocks the Mabel
  • The Inconveniencing
  • Dipper vs. Manliness

And while I won’t go into the specifics on each episode, I do want to discuss something near and dear to hardcore DVD owners… DVD Easter Eggs.  There are just a few on this DVD and here is how to access each of them (all of which are available from the Main Menu):

  • Moving up from “Play All” will produce a bunch of levitating Lil Gideon related items
  • Moving down from “Fast Play” will lead to a Rainbow Puking Gnome
  • Moving right from Episode Selection shows an owl clock which hoots and it’s 5 o’clock
  • Moving left from Set Up causes Mabel’s zombie boyfriend Norman to stumble across the screen
  • Moving right from sneak peeks causes a “Grunkle” Stan bobblehead to appear

Fans of the show may be wanting more of the episodes available on DVD, and while that is probably happening some time in the future I will remind that more gravity falls can easily be found online.  The DVD episodes themselves are crisp and clean quality, and that plus the Easter Eggs might be the reason to purchase it.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.